TT Rewind - 2017

TT Rewind - 2017

The 2017 TT saw a sensational return for Guy Martin but, after Honda Racing team-mate John McGuinness sustained serious injuries in a crash caused by a technical issue at the preceding North West 200, the Lincolnshire rider suffered the same problem in the Superbike Race and crashed at Doran’s Bend. Although uninjured, Honda and Martin withdrew from the Senior.

It was Ian Hutchinson (Tyco BMW) who won the Superbike encounter from Peter Hickman and Dean Harrison after early leader Michael Dunlop retired, and he then took win number two with a 22-second victory over Hickman in the Superstock Race. Local ace Dan Kneen claimed a hugely popular debut TT podium with third.

Mixed conditions saw Dunlop take the opening Supersport Race from James Hillier and Hickman and after more bad weather saw the cancellation of the second 600cc race, Michael Rutter gave Paton their first Lightweight Race victory.

The closing Senior TT was stopped on the first lap after Hutchinson crashed heavily at the 27th Milestone, suffering a badly broken leg. Dunlop won the shortened 4-lap restart to give Suzuki their first Senior TT win since 2003.

Ben and Tom Birchall won both Sidecar Races, aided by a new lap record of 117.199mph with Bruce Anstey winning the TT Zero race ahead of Mugen team-mate Guy Martin.

Watch free Share
TT Rewind - 2017
  • 2017 Superbike TT

    The four leading riders traded positions from start to finish in this incredibly close RST Superbike Race - making it any mans’ to win. With one crash and several high-profile retirements the race was thrilling and drama-filled in equal measure!

    James Hiller and his Kawasaki led the first race o...

  • 2017 Supersport TT Race 1

    The winning rider of this 2017 Supersport Race overhauled several pre-race favourites to take home his 14th TT win, equalling that of TT legend Mike Hailwood.

    A tight race from start to finish, James Hillier and Michael Dunlop wrestled it out to take the number one spot – both taking the lead s...

  • 2017 Sidecar TT Race 1

    For the majority of this 2017 Sidecar Race, brothers Ben and Tom Birchall fought off strong competition from solid pairing John Holden and Lee Cain. Manx duo Dave Molyneux and Dan Sayle however were right on their tail throughout – Molyneux keen to make an impression in what was his 50th TT race....

  • 2017 Superstock TT

    The winner made it three Superstock wins in a row in his second TT victory of the 2017 Isle of Man TT Races.

    Michael Rutter led the opening lap, but only by one second from Ian Hutchinson who eventually inched ahead at Ballaugh, while the competition for third was hotting up between Peter Hickm...

  • 2017 Lightweight TT

    Michael Rutter dominated this Bennetts Lightweight TT Race at the 2017 Isle of Man TT Races, fending off strong competition from the likes of former race winner Ivan Lintin, Martin Jessopp and pre-race favourite, Peter Hickman.

    Rutter led the opening lap, his Paton team-mate Stefano Bonetti clos...

  • 2017 TT Zero

    The winning rider of this 2017 TT Zero race retained his crown from the previous year in a race time of just over 19 minutes.
    Bruce Anstey and his Mugen Shinden teammate Guy Martin, got things off to a great start with both leading at the front, with Anstey careering into a 10 second lead.

  • 2017 Sidecar TT Race 2

    One sidecar racing duo dominated the class in the 2017 Isle of Man TT Races, taking home their second victory of the week and sixth TT win by a staggering 26.5 seconds.

    John Holden and Lee Cain kicked off proceedings, taking a slender lead from the Birchall brothers Ben and Tom, with the formida...

  • 2017 Senior TT

    This 2017 Senior TT race got off to a tricky start when the race was restarted after a major incident involving Ian Hutchinson, with the race restarted and shortened to four laps.

    Michael Dunlop led the resumed race, with Bruce Anstey, Dean Harrison and 2017-star Peter Hickman quick on his tail....