TT Rewind - 2018

TT Rewind - 2018

Perfect weather blessed the Island for the entirety of TT 2018, but tragedy struck early on when Manxman Dan Kneen lost his life after a crash at Churchtown in practice. Peter Hickman was the man of the week as he upped the Outright and Superstock lap records to a sensational 135.452mph and 134.403mph respectively as he claimed his maiden TT victories.

It was Michael Dunlop who came through for the Superbike Race win – dedicating the win to Tyco BMW team-mate Kneen – after early leader Dean Harrison retired. Dunlop doubled up in the opening Supersport Race with a new lap record of 129.197mph, and then completed his hat-trick with victory, and another new lap record, in the Lightweight Race.

Hickman came from a lowly tenth early on in the Superstock Race to claim a debut TT win and after Harrison won the second Supersport Race, the duo went head to head in the Senior.

In one of the best TT races ever, the duo were never more than seconds apart with Harrison leading up until the Bungalow on the final lap. Hickman’s stunning lap record gave him the win by 2.1s.

Ben and Tom Birchall took a superb Sidecar double which saw them record the first ever sub-19minute lap and up their own lap record to a staggering 119.250mph, whilst Michael Rutter (Mugen) won the TT Zero race with a new lap record of 121.824mph - the first ever 120mph+ lap in the class.

Watch free Share
TT Rewind - 2018
  • 2018 Superbike TT

    This RST Superbike of the 2018 Isle of Man TT Races was dramatic from start to finish, with Dean Harrison and Michael Dunlop pitting it out at the front for the first four laps of the race.

    Harrison shattered the outright lap record from a standing start, putting in a sensational opening lap of...

  • 2018 Sidecar TT Race 1

    Mansfield brothers, Ben and Tom Birchall, broke their own lap record in every lap of this incredible opening Sidecar Race at the 2018 Isle of Man TT Races.

    Claiming an astonishing 118mph+ lap record, the brothers worked hard in this quick-firing race and were locked in a titanic battle with long...

  • 2018 Supersport TT Race 1

    Michael Dunlop, who already had a race win under his belt that week, was locked in a two-way battle with Dean Harrison in this high-adrenaline Monster Energy Supersport Race at the 2018 Isle of Man TT.

    Dunlop’s second lap of 129.197mph shattered his own lap record from 2013 and propelled him int...

  • 2018 Superstock TT

    This thrilling Superstock race at the 2018 Isle of Man TT Races was an epic game of cat and mouse between its three stars: Michael Dunlop, Dean Harrison, and Peter Hickman. The trio swapped positions throughout the race, with Hickman posting a stunning new lap record of 134.403mph.

    Harrison domi...

  • 2018 Supersport TT Race 2

    As he had done for most of the 2018 TT Races, Dean Harrison took the lead from the start, in another record-breaking race. He was up against strong competition though, with the likes of Michael Dunlop, Peter Hickman, and James Hillier in strong contention to take the second Monster Energy Supersp...

  • 2018 TT Zero

    This one-lap TT Zero Race at the 2018 TT got off to a flying start, with Michael Rutter and his Japanese Mugen machine, away first, closely followed by his teammate Lee Johnston.

    The University of Nottingham’s Daley Mathison was less than a second back in third, keen to retain a position on the...

  • 2018 Lightweight TT

    The Lightweight lap record was smashed several times in this highly dramatic 2018 race, with various riders taking the lead throughout. After a high-profile retirement, the winner took home his 18th TT win, the third rider in the TT’s history to do so.

    Derek McGee led the opening lap, the Irishm...

  • 2018 Sidecar TT Race 2

    History was made in this thrilling second Sidecar Race of the 2018 Isle of Man TT races, which saw the first ever sidecar crew lap the Mountain Course in under 19 minutes.

    As with the first sidecar race of 2018, this became a race of three pairs – Ben and Tom Birchall, who had won the earlier ra...

  • 2018 Senior TT

    Friday 8th June 2018 saw one of the greatest races in the Isle of Man TT’s history, when Peter Hickman and Dean Harrison battled it out for the historic trophy during a sensational Senior TT Race.

    Lap, race, and sector records were all obliterated at this spectacular finale, where the pair playe...